Loading... Please wait...

Margie Lou Dyer-Old Digger's Picnic


Album Description



Stomp, Throb, Wail & Shout
After the last 30 years of recording with Al, this is my first without him. In his stead
his washboard is played with passion & love, by our daughter Hayley Browne.

The music we play aims to be earthy, vibrant, unpretentious & uncompromising.
The repertoire is based on some of the many giants of Jazz who allow/inspire
us to love & keep learning their artform.

I cannot play without stomping, or sing without wailing or shouting. Sometimes
the melancholic timbre of Billie or Bessie inspires my need for a softer tone.

But it is the high energy (“Play as if it’s your last chance” W.Dyer) and the
collaboration of Eugene, Cam, Howard & Hayley, that makes this quintet the
most joyous experience in an otherwise troubled world.



01 Old Digger's Picnic (Take 1)

02 Doctor Jazz

03 Hummin' to Myself

04 Let's Say We're Sorry

05 Downtown Strutters' Ball

06 China Boy

07 Make Me a Pallet on the Floor

08 Ice-cream

09 I Got No Place To Go

10 Dippermouth Blues

11 Black and Tan Fantasy

12 Route 33

13 Old Digger's Picnic (Take 2)


This album is dedicated to Allan Browne
- Margie Lou Dyer, 2018

Find Similar Albums by Genre

Album Reviews

This album hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this album!

Write your own album review