Loading... Please wait...

The Mighty Mighty Bosstones - The Magic Of Youth

Usually ships within 48 hours, except for weekends and public holidays

Album Description

 The Mighty Mighty Bosstones (informally referred to as The Bosstones) are an American ska-coré band from Boston, Massachusetts, formed in 1983. Since the band's inception, lead vocalist Dicky Barrett, bassist Joe Gittleman, tenor saxophonist Tim "Johnny Vegas" Burton and dancer ("Bosstones") Ben Carr have remained constant members. The line-up also includes drummer Joe Sirois, saxophonist Kevin Linear, guitarist Lawrence Katz and trombonist Chris Rhodes. If you havent realized it yet, there are truly only three constants in any ska-punkers life: death, taxes and the Mighty Mighty Bosstones. The Boston-bred ska-core octet have been in business for nearly 25 years—but just because theyre eligible for the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame doesn’tt mean they have nothing left to say. “If the question is why at this point in time, in 2011, do we need a Mighty Mighty Bosstones record, then the same question should be asked: Why do we need good music?” says front man Dicky Barrett. “We make really good records, and this one that we are currently making is no exception—its damn good. On top of that making damn good music with each other is something we love doing” . The Magic of Youth is an eleven song album that has everything a Bosstones fan could ever want.  Ripping sing along choruses, classic ska core beats, vibrant horn lines and of course the raspy heartfelt voice and lyrics of Dicky Barrett.  The writing of the album started shortly after the release of Pin Points and Gin Joints in 2009 and will also be released on the bands own Big Rig Records.  Produced by Ted Hutt (the Gaslight Anthem, Dropkick Murphy’s), The Magic of Youth arrives just in time for the bands annual Hometown Throw down which will take place Dec 28-30 at the House of Blues in Boston. The Bosstones recently played two sold out nights at Bostons Fenway Park with Dropkick Murphy’s and did a string of shows in Europe including the Redding and Leeds festivals.  

Track Listing

1. The Daylights

2. Like A Shotgun

3. Disappearing

4. Sunday Afternoons on Wisdom Ave.

5. They Will Need Music

6. The Package Store Petition

7. The Horseshoe and the Rabbit’s Foot

8. The Magic Of Youth

9. The Upper Hand

10. The Ballad Of Candlepin Paul

11. Open and Honest

Find Similar Albums by Tag

Find Similar Albums by Genre

Album Reviews

This album hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this album!

Write your own album review