Loading... Please wait...

Blow - Live At Bennetts Lane


Album Description

BLOW, formerly known as Musiikki Oy has been at the forefront of Australian contemporary jazz since the early 80's. The past 20 odd years have resulted in a number of CDs, which have now become collector's items and a variety of personnel changes - changes which in turn have always produced a new and exciting direction in their music. The current line-up of Ted Vining drums, Peter Harper alto saxophone/flute, Simon Kent trumpet/trombone, Adrian Sherriff bass trombone /didgeridoo /shakahachi and keyboards, Nick Haywood bass, is no exception!

Live At Bennetts Lane features eight originals from their current repertoire and one 'classic' from the great John Coltrane, all performed with the daring, the freedom, the energy and the warmth and passion for which the band is best known. BLOW was chosen and consequently funded by the Australia Council for the Arts, to tour Switzerland during September/October 2002.

"The band on this disc, long a powerful and intriguing force in the Melbourne jazz underground, rejoiced under the name of Musikki Oy until a change to the prosaic Blow. I have never heard a performance by this band that did not grip me. The stuff caught on this disc is very strong indeed and has the ambiance of the club in which it was recorded." John Clare, Sydney Morning Herald.

Album Tracks

  1. Together
  2. Oy Angle
  3. Lotus Flower
  4. Sex Traffic
  5. The Wise One
  6. Knobs
  7. Toytown Jungle
  8. Snip
  9. Paranoia

Find Similar Albums by Genre

Album Reviews

This album hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this album!

Write your own album review

Add to Wish List

Click the button below to add the Blow - Live At Bennetts Lane to your wish list.

You Recently Viewed...