Loading... Please wait...

Steve Sedergreen - LIVE


Album Description

Jazz pianist & educator Steve Sedergreen first started the outfit Mistaken Identity in the late 80s with his brother Malcolm, multi-saxophonist (alto, tenor and soprano) and together they have produced several LP and CD albums. Over the years the band offered many line-ups the current one including both Steve & Mal of course, with Ted Vining on drums and Nick Haywood on double-bass.

Mistaken Identity is built around the obvious rapport between the Sedergreen brothers, pianist Steve and saxophonist Mal. They have always sought to make their jazz accessible and spirited, and they succeed on their fifth album, which presents appealing arrangements of the songs of Stevie Wonder. They work well as vehicles for jazz-blowing by the tight-knit band.- ADRIAN JACKSON (well-known jazz writer and artistic director of Wangaratta Festival of Jazz).

Steve has been a well-established figure in the Melbourne jazz scene through a variety of activities including director and curator of Dizzy's Jazz Club (1999 - 2006); 20 years of teaching jazz (including mentoring members of The Cat Empire) and of course as a constantly in-demand musician over a wide range of performance situations, from jazz clubs to corporate events & private parties.

Track Listing


  1. Eleanor Rigby (John Lennon/ Paul McCartney)
  2. Fragile (Sting)
  3. Tone Poem/ Sonf of Loving-Kindness (Charles Lloyd/Gary Bartz)
  4. It's Up to You (Mal Sedergreen)
  5. Chan's Song (Never Said) (Herbie Hancock/ Stevie Wonder)
  6. Toenails (Anthony 'ToK' Norris)
  7. Slow Recovery (Steve Sedergreen)
  8. One for Barry (Mal and Steve Sedergreen)


  1. Musician and Chef
  2. Knock Nock
  3. Moesying
  4. Hyperspace
  5. Mr Messa
  6. On the Number
  7. Dale
  8. It's Up to You

Find Similar Albums by Genre

Album Reviews

This album hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this album!

Write your own album review